North Shore head coach Jon Kay takes position with Rice

North Shore head coach Jon Kay takes position with Rice

  • 1 year ago
  • 0 comment

One of the top high school football programs in Texas and the country is looking for a new head coach after multiple reports confirm Jon Kay of North Shore (Houston) is leaving to take over as the linebackers coach at Rice University. The news was first reported by Matt Stepp of Dave Campbell's Texas Football.

Kay spent the last nine season as the head coach at North Shore leading the Mustangs to a 117-18 record and four state titles (2015, 2018, 2019, 2021). He was the defensive coordinator for 15 seasons before taking over as head coach in 2014 after Hall of Fame coach David Aymond retired.

North Shore is coming off a 15-1 season and finished as the 6A Division 1 runner-up, losing to Duncanville 28-21 in the state championship game. The Mustangs finished ranked No. 9 in the final MaxPreps Top 25 – the fifth straight year they finished the season nationally ranked.

In 2018, Kay led North Shore to a 15-0 record and a MaxPreps National Championship. They are the last team from Texas to finish ranked No. 1. Allen (2014), Katy (2015) and Southlake Carroll (2005, 2006) are the other schools from the Lone Star State to finish No. 1.

The Mustangs return a lot of talent and expect be one of the best teams in the country once again next season. Kay leaving for Rice opens up one of the best jobs in high school football.

Notable players returning for North Shore include 2022 MaxPreps Sophomore All-American cornerback Devin Sanchez, four-star wide receiver Deion Deblanc and Class of 2025 quarterback Kaleb Bailey, a first team selection on the 2021 MaxPreps Freshman All-America team after leading the Mustangs to a 6A Division 1 state title. He was on his way to being selected to the 2022 MaxPreps Sophomore All-America team but suffered a season-ending injury against King (Houston) in late September.

Kay joins a long list of legendary coaches that stepped down after this past season that includes Tim Buchanan of Aledo (Texas), Bill Castle of Lakeland (Fla.), Trent Dilfer of Lipscomb Academy (Nashville, Tenn.), Chuck Kyle of St. Ignatius (Cleveland), Jason Mohns of Saguaro (Scottsdale, Ariz.) and Bruce Rollinson of Mater Dei (Santa Ana, Calif.).

Go to publisher's website


Leave a Comment